NZSS Open Water Swimming Champs

NZSS Open Water Swimming Champs - Sports News - About - Titans Sport - Tauranga Boys' College

NZ Secondary School Open Water Swimming Championships 2018


Tauranga Boys' College sent a team of three boys: Daniel Shanahan (Year 11), Matthew Wagstaff (Year 10), and Louis Fitzjohn (Year 10) to this year’s New Zealand Secondary Schools Open Water Swimming Championships 2018, which were held at Lake Taupo on 13-14 January 2018. The NZSS competition comprised the 1km, 2,5km and 5km open water swims around a special circuit laid out on the lake.


Race 1: 1km

200 competitors started the 1000m race which was won by Daniel Shanahan, with Matthew Wagstaff 9th and Louis Fitzjohn 10th . This was an excellent start to 2 days of racing with Daniel winning the 14-15 year category and Louis the 10-13 year category, scoring valuable points for the school as all of the boys scored points towards the school's total.


Race 2: 2.5km

The 2.5 km race had 238 swimmers on the start line and Tauranga Boys' College had both Daniel and Matthew competing. After a fine swim by both boys: Daniel  finished 2nd overall and 1st in his age category and Matthew Wagstaff finished 24th overall but scored valuable points with a 7th place in his age category.


Race 3: 5km

The final swim of the weekend was the 5km event which included the 5 km NZ Open Water championship race. Again Daniel and Matthew had excellent swims finishing 3rd and 6th respectively in their age categories and ensuring valuable points for the school.


Overall Result

The school achieved an impressive 3rd place overall in the NZ Secondary School Open Water National Championships, a very credible result from only 3 swimmers. In 2019 we are hoping to take more of our recognised National Swimmers to the championships and try to improve on this year’s result.