Underwater Hockey National Champions

Underwater Hockey - National Champions!

Underwater Hockey National Champions

Underwater Hockey National Champions - Tauranga Boys' College

TBC Report Underwater Hockey Nationals

As national champions in both 2017 and 2018, there was a lot at stake this year as the boys started the Secondary Schools National competition in Wellington. 

We started our first day of pool play with a convincing 4-1 win over Hutt International Boys College, coached by old boy Guy Roberts,  then an 8-0 thrashing of Mahurangi College. The second day started with what was expected to be a tough game against our nemesis, Glendowie College but the boys came together nicely and took away a 2-0 win. Next up was Nelson College who we also beat convincingly. This put us at the top of our pool and straight into the semi-finals against Howick College who narrowly beat us at regionals to take the Gold so this was going to be our most important game of the tournament to ensure we made the finals. The boys played an exceptional game and they were hungry for the win. We beat Howick 3-1 to book our place in the final, again against Glendowie College. This final game was hard fought and the TBC boys were not leaving without the Gold. The final score was 2-0 to Tauranga Boys and we remain National champions for the third straight year.

Most valuable player was awarded to Zachary Howe and the following boys were also named in the tournament team: Zachary Howe, Thomas Holdom and Aidan Heath. 

Our coach Kenrick Knowlson was also selected to receive the National Service Award at the opening ceremony for all the time, energy and effort he has put into Underwater Hockey over the years. Thanks for the time that you spend coaching the team Kenrick. You are very much appreciated.

Thanks must go to Divezone for sponsoring our transport to Wellington and The Whipped Baker Cafe who provided the boys with some great food.

Team: Thomas Holdom (captain), Zachary Howe (vice-captain), James Robinson, Aidan Heath, Christopher Maine, Daniel Maine, Caleb Cooper, Parker Davis, Carter Ormsby and  Theo Lafont.

Share this article: